DAY 16: WHAT IS CLIMATE TO YOU?

Apart from just answering the question in class; “what is climate?” do we actually know what climate is or what it means to us? I have had an opportunity to travel outside Africa and I must say I did not appreciate the drastic weather change. Some places are very cold based on the season, even when it’s shining๐Ÿคฆ, others are hot and this requires a real shift in your wardrobe. Trust me this is not the case in my country Uganda.

I have been to the North, East, West and South of Uganda but the weather is not so different. At the very least, for the cold places all I need is my hoodie and socks and I’m okay. I have had the opportunity to really travel around my country and appreciate the green or the lack there of; like in the Karamoja region, here even the water hits your body differently.

I have learned that my country is very beautiful but most of all that many people do not know what their contribution is to the climate/weather issue in our country. There are many furniture stores, so much garbage thrown all over the place, pretty much 90% of the people can’t even filter their garbage to differentiate non-bio degradable and bio-degradable. People happily toss garbage out the window of taxis and even personal cars; this breaks my heart every time I see it. People are confidently building malls and apartments in swamps!

Imagine a world where each one of us makes a deliberate contribution to the environment. No littering, each home separated their garbage based on degradable and non-degradable, people dispose off garbage rightfully, we reduce the usage of kavera (polythene bag), people refrain from building in Swamps, this list is endless. Uganda would be way more beautiful than it is now but most of all, the climate will have been catered for, and agriculture being one of our core activities, even the farmers would be smiling…

Tell me; as an individual, what are you contributing to the climate change? ๐ŸŒ…๐ŸŒ„

Published by ollyvyola

Always smiling, can be very serious though. My friends say I have OCD. I am also a very adventurous and daring human being.

2 thoughts on “DAY 16: WHAT IS CLIMATE TO YOU?

  1. Well articulated and relatable piece. Now to think of my contribution to climate change and how I can reduces my carbon foot print each passing day. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘Š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started